Self Empathy

Dear Friends,

Recently, I had been working harder than it’s healthy for me and began experiencing mental fatigue. Eager to nip the situation in the bud, I engaged in the Self-Empathy process during a practice group.

Self-Empathy gives us a way to explore difficult situations in our lives, release tension, and mourn the pain of unmet needs. The last step in the process invites us to ask ourselves, “What can I do to meet my needs in this situation?” I thought the answer was obvious: Schedule fewer clients!

In the past, I used to think up solutions to problems. When I implemented them, they worked sometimes but not others. Until one day, I began to ask my heart for solutions, instead of my mind. So, I posed the question about my health and waited silently. The answer surprised me: “Let go of fear.”

My heart bypassed the mind and got to the core of the problem: I was scheduling too many clients to compensate for the potential warm-weather lull. I wanted to meet the organization’s productivity standard. I was being driven by fear! Had I just scheduled fewer clients without deeper self-understanding, my guess is that I would have slipped into overworking unconsciously.

Since I got this insight, I have been working with integrity while protecting my health and well being. I’m happy to report that I’m feeling well, I’m enjoying my job again, and, without trying, I am exceeding the productivity standard.

Warm regards to all,

Myra

About Institute for Empowering Communication

Co-founder of the Institute for Empowering Communication
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.