Balance and Harmony

Message from Myra

Dear Friends,

Greetings. I hope you are well.

I’m happy to share that I’m doing well. After suffering from burnout in 2011, I set out to create balance and harmony in my life. My guiding principle is Self-Connection and Universal Human Needs — ah, those shining stars! At the beginning of the journey, I discovered that I was driven to exhaustion by unconscious shame stemming from childhood: “If I do well I have worth,”  fear: “If I exceed expectations I have job security” and approval seeking: “I want management to see me as a good therapist, productive, etc.” It was amazing to me that after so many years of self-exploration, I still was acting from thoughts and feelings that hurt my health. I am pleased to report that I am now more at peace. I still slip more often than I would like and get caught in the grip of a project. My body says, “Rest!” and I override it. At times, I start losing my path. Nonetheless, I have developed a new lifestyle. I am enjoying sitting with people (clients) and hearing the things of their hearts, connecting with a friend over a cup of cinnamon spice tea, twisting and stretching in yoga to the sounds of Indian music and the scent of sandalwood. I am living in the present, no longer driven by a desire to prove anything. My motivation, my fuel, is to serve not to achieve. love this easier, calmer life. It gives me a sense of serenity I’m now ready to share my journey: Psychological Well-Being: Helping Clients Promote Balance, Fulfillment and Happiness.

Although the workshop is addressed to mental health professionals, it is for everyone. I teach in everyday language and concepts. If appealing, I hope you join me.

Valuing interdependence, I offer partial scholarships through work exchange. No one is turned away for lack of financial means.


Leslie and I are eagerly waiting for warmer weather in Chicago so we can take long walks. In the meantime, we’re hanging in there.

Warmly,

Myra
About Institute for Empowering Communication

Co-founder of the Institute for Empowering Communication
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.